Friday, December 16, 2011

A Wonderful Time of Year

Happy Friday everyone! For today's project, I decided to tackle something I've never done before...decorating naked wood. The whole idea has always sounded so daunting to me, but now that I've done it I realize what I've been missing out on!

I found a Noel wood block set at my local big box store. I thought this would make a great gift for a friend.

I traced the letters onto the paper then cut them out. After adhering them to the wooden letters with my Xyron sticker maker, I inked the edges with a brown cat's eye ink pad. Then I cut out the papers for the wooden blocks and used my sticker maker to adhere those as well.

It's hard to see from the picture, but once I was done with the blocks, I sanded the edges to get rid of the overlapping paper on the corners. It adds a more worn look to the blocks, which I liked.

I inked the edges of the blocks, added the letters and embellishments and the project was complete! Super easy and SUPER cute!!

Like I said, these would make great gifts for the homemade decor lover. I was going to give them to a friend but decided to keep them for myself. Is that wrong? :)

I hope this inspires you to take on a project that you've never tackled before. Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!

~ Cristine

Supplies:

Authentique:
Patterned Paper: Wonder - Anticipation, Expectation and Yearning

Other:
Adhesive - Xyron
Buttons - Basic Grey
Ink - Colorbox Chalk Ink in Chestnut Roan
Twine - The Twinery

17 comments:

  1. They look great, Cristine! And no, it's not bad you kept them! Now you just get a chance to make something else for your friend!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Love your wood blocks! They came out wonderfully! Thanks for sharing your 'new' craft adventure!
    Pam

    ReplyDelete
  3. These would make great hostess gift sets and you don't have to be limited to the holidays...imagine doing your hostess' last surname in decorated blocks...neat...great craft idea.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Wow this is really gorgeous. Lee xx

    ReplyDelete
  5. This is such a neat project. I'm going to be saving this post to remind me I need to tackle something like this next year as I'm plum out of energy to tackle anything crafty this holiday season. These would make terrific homemade gifts for a friend of mine who is just starting out on her own (with her hubby) and would definitely help them build a supply of decorations for the future!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I am not sure if I did the hop right yesterday so I am gonna hop hop hop along today! Thanks for the chance to win!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I love these blocks!!! So cute!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletfactory-stores.us.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface-outlets.com.co

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardypopsale.com

    Coach Outlet Store Online http://www.coachstoreonline.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletstore.in.net

    Cheap Jordans http://www.cheapjordansretro.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet Store http://www.michaelkorsoutletsstores.us.com

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurses.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutlet2016.us.com

    Tory Burch Shoes http://www.toryburch-outlet.us.org

    Longchamp Outlet http://www.longchampoutlet.in.net

    Michael Kors Handbags http://www.innnov8.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.innnovate.com

    Red Bottom Shoes http://www.redbottomshoes.us.org

    Moncler Jackets http://www.monclerdownjackets.us.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletstore.us.com

    Moncler Outlet http://www.moncleroutletonline.in.net

    Coach Factory http://www.maganates.com

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactorysoutlet.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katesapdeoutlet.us.org

    Ray Ban Outlet http://www.raybanoutletstore.in.net

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoes2016.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlets.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachoutletstore.name

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletonline.name

    Coach Outlet http://www.coach-outlets.us.org

    Nike Roshe Run http://www.tanie-nikerosherun.pl

    Buty Nike Air Max http://www.airmaxsprzedazdla.pl

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeairmax.us.org

    Red Bottom Shoes http://www.redbottomshoe.in.net

    Christian Louboutin Outlet http://www.christianlouboutinoutlet.us.org

    Balenciaga Handbags http://www.balenciagaoutlets.us.com

    Balenciaga Handbags http://www.balenciaga-handbags.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.in.net

    Toms Shoes http://www.tomshoesoutlet.us.com

    Hermes Belt http://www.hermes-belts.us.com

    Prada Outlet http://www.pradafactoryoutlet.com

    Louis Vuitton Outlet http://www.louisvuittonsoutlet.us.com

    North Face Outlet Store http://www.northfaceoutletstore.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.north-face.in.net

    North Face http://www.north-faceoutlets.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Outlet http://www.louisvuitton-outlets.us.org

    Timberland Boots http://www.timberland-outlets.us.com

    Cheap Timberland Boots http://www.timberlandoutlet.us.com

    Tory Burch Outlet http://www.outlettoryburch.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutletusa.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlaurenstoreoutlet.us.com

    Gucci Shoes http://www.guccifactoryoutlet.name

    Gucci Outlet http://www.guccioutletco.us.com

    North Face Jackets http://www.northfacefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Prada Outlet http://www.pradaoutlets.in.net

    Hollister Clothing http://www.hollister-clothing.us.com

    Ferragamo Shoes http://www.ferragamoshoes.us.org

    Tiffany Outlet http://www.tiffany-outlets.us.com

    Tiffany Outlet http://www.tiffanyco-outlet.us.com

    NFL Jerseys http://www.nfljerseys.name

    Toms Outlet http://www.outlettoms.us.com

    Cheap Jordans http://www.cheapjordans.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.thenorthfaceoutlet.us.org

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-korsoutletstores.us.com

    Prada Handbags http://www.pradaoutlet.us.org

    Chan Luu Sale http://www.chanluu.us.com

    Toms Outlet http://www.tomsoutletstores.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletonline.us.org

    Beats By Dr Dre http://www.beatsbydrdre.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    ReplyDelete
  9. I like the post format as you create user engagement in the complete article. It seems round up of all published posts. Thanks for gauging the informative posts.
    cara menggugurkan hamil
    cara menggugurkan kandungan

    ReplyDelete

Blogging tips